Chengdu Metro

Chengdu Metro (branded as metro) is the local mass rapid train transportation system in Chengdu, the capital of Sichuan Province, China. The system has four lines. Line 1 was constructed between December 2005 and 2010, and opened at Sep 27th, making it the first heavy-rail metro line in south and west China. (Chongqing Rail Transit Line 2 opened first in 2005 but is Heavy-Monorail);[4] and Line 2 began operations in September 2012. Line 4 opened to public at the end of December 2015, while Line 3 opened in July 2016. Metro lines are operated by Chengdu Metro Limited Liability Company. Commuter rail lines such as the Chengdu–Dujiangyan Intercity Railway are operated by Chengdu City Commuter Railway Limited Liability Company. It is China’s first joint venture between a local government and China’s national rail operator. The city and the Ministry of Railways worked together in building metro lines and high speed commuting rail lines.[5] A light rail system northwest of Chengdu began construction at October 2015, and will open to public in 2017.



Evolution of the Chengdu Metro

  • Chengdu Metro’s first subway line, Line 1, started construction on December 28, 2005.
  • Construction of Line 2 began on 29 December 2007.
  • Line 1 opened on 27 September 2010.
  • Line 4 started construction on 22 July 2011.
  • On 25 April 2012, Line 3 was approved by the Development and Reform Commission
  • On 16 January 2012, the National Development and Reform Commission officially approved the southern extension of Line 1.
  • On 28 April 2012, Line 3 started construction.
  • On 8 June 2013, Line 2 West Extension to Xipu, and Ocean Park Station on Line 1 was opened. Ocean Park was then renamed to Jincheng Plaza.
  • On 26 October 2014, Line 2 East Extension to Longquanyi opened.
  • On 25 July 2015, Line 1 South Extension was opened.
  • On December 10, 2015, Line 4 phase 1 was opened.
  • On July 31, 2016, Line 3 phase 1 was opened.
  • On February 27, 2017, Chengdu Metro Ltd (成都地铁有限责任公司) changed its name to Chengdu Rail Transit Group Co. Ltd (成都轨道交通集团有限公司).


There will be five lines constructed in the first phase, covering 126 km with 116 stations including 11 interchange stations. Line 1 has 17 stations at along the 18.50 kilometre route, starting at Shengxian Lake and ending at Century City. Line 2 has 26 stations along the 31.20 kilometre route, starting at Xipu and ending at Chengdu Institute of Administration.

Map of Chengdu Metro (2016)


Line Terminals
Opened Newest
 1 Shengxian Lake
2010 2015 23.9 22
 2 Xipu
2012 2014 42.3 32
 3 Chengdu Junqu General Hospital
2016 20.33 17
 4 Intangible Cultural Heritage Park
2015 22.4 16
Total 108.4 87

Line 1

Main article:


Luomashi Station

The first phase of Line 1 cost 7 billion yuan to construct.A natural ventilation system has been used in the construction of the underground section of Line 1 on the subway system from Southern Third Ring Road to Chengdu New Exhibition and Convention Center. Square ventilation units are built every 30m along the subway top to allow fresh air from the ground enter the construction site underground. The method is used in subway construction in other countries as it cuts the construction cost and it saves energy. The subway system is the first in China to adopt such a ventilation system during construction. Chengdu Metro is planning to set up a section for subway fire control and introduce the latest fire fighting technologies and vehicles.[15]

Line 2

Main article: Line 2, Chengdu Metro

Line 2 is a crosstown northwest-southeast trunk route. It serves the Chengdu East Railway Station. Line 2 began operation on 16 September 2012.[16]

Line 3

Line 3 is a crosstown northeast-southwest trunk route. It started operation on 31 July 2016.

Line 4

Line 4 is a crosstown east-west trunk route, serving the Chengdu West Railway Station. It started operation on 26 December 2015.